Quang’s 1997 Litespeed Classic

Wed Jul 01, 2015
I spotted this on Gumtree for a very good price. I ended up selling my red and white Jim Bundy to make space and fund this bike.
IMG_2907 Had a bunch of scratches on the TT presumably from storage. It was a lot of work polishing out the scratches. IMG_2927

It is a 1997 Litespeed Classic in the lovely polished finish. Still very good condition almost 20 years on. It is running the original 8s STI DA, 3ttt Competizione and stem in the gunmetal finish. Built as it is, it weighs in at 9.14kg, which is absolutely light. Now I just need to find a 100mm Ti stem to get it under 9kg. I did end up getting a 3ttt Pro Titanium stem along with some Forma bars and a Flite TT to bring down the weight.
IMG_0422 IMG_0425

IMG_0437 Seatpost was an aluminium Control Tech, which I replaced with a NOS American Classic Ti seatpost. It just happens that Litespeed used the AC clamp style for their ’97 seatposts too. It is brushed, but one day Ill give it a polish. IMG_0433

Lovely welding on the frame, back in the Lynskey era of Litespeed.
IMG_0432 Rare Mavic Relfex Clinchers. The ceramic braking surface is certainly interesting. Braking is still good, but I guess it doesn’t have the issue with worn anodising. IMG_0443

And the all important gold chain. I would’ve stuck with the original DA chain if it weren’t rusty. Notice the Ti crank bolts too.
IMG_0426 IMG_0428


Leave a comment